The Welsh Hill Climb Championship was promoted by Abergavenny RC on the climb out of Govilon on the Blaenavon Road, in fairly good conditions. The event used the first 1.8 miles of the climb on the hill know to some as the Keepers Hill, and by others as the Tumble. This course, originally measured by CC Abergavenny, was the same as used for the Monmouthshire Cycling League's open event in 1986, when Rhys Rowlands Abertillery Wheelers won with a hill record of 10m.47.3s. It was beaten the following year, 1987, in the same promotion by Graham .Barnes Gloucester City CC with a time of 10m.23.5s. The winner of this year's Welsh Open Championship was Martin Bawden RAF CC, whose 11m.30.1s. was the fastest to win any of the Welsh Championships held on the course. 2nd Simon Geary Hereford Wh. 1-35.0, 3rd Luke Rowe Cardiff Ajax 11-35.5, 4th Ewan Short Climb on Bikes 12-11.1, 5th Hefin Jones Ross on Wye 12-12.7, 6th Ian Davies Abertillery Wh. 12-21.3.

1st Team: Cardiff Ajax CC L.Rowe, Stephen Strange 13-46.9, Chris Rosser 13-49.3. 1st Lady was Tracey Maund Walsall RC 13-02.1, while Ewan Short was 1st Junior, and Abertillery's Ian Davies was 1st Veteran.